Eagle Scout Resources

The rank of Eagle Scout is the highest and most prestigious achievement a Boy Scout can achieve. Highly respected, the title of Eagle Scout carries with it a special significance not only in Scouting, but also in school, business and the community for a lifetime. To attain Eagle, a Scout must earn at least 21 merit badges, display leadership and outdoor skills, demonstrate by example the Scout Oath and Law and complete a comprehensive service project in the community.

Life to Eagle Scout Packet

To earn the rank of Eagle a Boy Scout must:

Progress through the Boy Scout ranks in the following order

  • Tenderfoot
  • Second Class
  • First Class
  • Star
  • Life
  • Eagle

Earn 21 merit badges, including

  • First Aid
  • Citizenship in the Community
  • Citizenship in the Nation
  • Citizenship in the World
  • Communication
  • Cooking
  • Personal Fitness
  • Emergency Preparedness OR Lifesaving
  • Environmental Science OR Sustainability
  • Personal Management
  • Cycling, Hiking OR Swimming
  • Camping
  • Family Life

While a Life Scout, a boy must also

  • Serve at least six months in a troop leadership position
  • Plan, develop and lead a service project for either a school, community or religious organization 
  • Demonstrate and live by the Scout Oath and Law
  • Participate in a Scoutmaster Conference
  • Successfully complete an Eagle Scout Board of Review

Well known Eagle Scouts include

  • Neil Armstrong—Astronaut, Apollo 11, First Man on the Moon
  • Michael Bloomberg—Mayor of New York City
  • Bill Bradley—NBA basketball player and Senator
  • Gerald Ford—President of the United States
  • Steve Fossett—Aviator and adventurer
  • Dick Gephardt—House of Representatives
  • James Lovell—Astronaut, Apollo 13
  • Jim Mora—Coach, Indianapolis Colts
  • Jay Nixon—Governor of Missouri
  • Ross Perot—CEO of EDS and Perot Systems
  • Mike Rowe—TV Host, Dirty Jobs
  • Steven Spielberg—Academy Award- winning director
  • Sam Walton—Founder of Walmart
  • Ken Whisenhunt—Coach, Arizona Cardinals

Helpful Forms

Eagle Scout Service Project Workbook (right click and save to desktop, then opened saved file)

Eagle Scout Rank Application

Beneficiary Information Sheet

Eagle Palm Application

Eagle Scout Award Suggested Ceremonies

Eagle Scout Press Release Form


Eagle Scout Scholarship Opportunities

Sons of the American Revolution– Open to all Eagle Scouts who are currently registered in an active unit and have not reached their 19th birthday during the year of application. The year that Eagle was awarded is not restricted.

VFW Scout of the Year Scholarship– Scouts who are registered, active members of a Boy Scout Troop, Venturing Crew, Sea Scout Ship, or a Girl Scout Troop, and who have received the Eagle Scout Award, Venture Silver Award, Sea Scout Quartermaster Award, or Girl Scout Gold Award. Scouts must be at least 15 years of age to apply, and must have demonstrated practical citizenship in school, scouting and the community.


We are proud of our rich history of Eagle Scouts here in the Evangeline Area Council. Please click the years below to find a list of Eagle Scouts from that year. 

2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000


Click here to see the independent research study done by the Templeton Foundation and Baylor University on the Value of Scouting